Flying Laptop
Project Management, Professor of Satellite Technology

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Secretary
Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart


 

Our partners

DLR Logo
Logo Airbus D&S
ESA Logo
tesat_logo

 

 

System Simulation and Verification

A spacecraft simulation environment with a complete command chain has been established at the Institute of Space Systems. It consists of an on-board computer, various development boards, a real-time spacecraft simulator, a mission control system and a flight/test-procedure execution engine. Furthermore a 3D visualization facility is included. The small satellite FLP is the first satellite simulated in this environment, which enables control algorithms and on-board software testing before spacecraft hardware is available. Also, hardware-in-the-loop tests are performed with the set-up. The elements of this command chain are all applied industrial systems, provided by market-leading companies. Both students and industrial partners benefit from this cooperation. Students get trained to use real industrial tools that they will use later in their careers and space industry gains improved access to qualified graduates. The illustration outlines the general architecture of the type of infrastructure used.

mdve-outline-500

The real-time simulator is the heart of this environment and has been sponsored by Airbus DS. The on-board software is either tested on an FPGA development board or an engineering model of the real on-board computer. Both the simulator and the on-board software on the development board can be commanded by an ESA mission control system, SCOS-2000. This type of system will later be used in the ground station of the institute to command the satellite in orbit. Spacecraft test and later flight procedures can be edited and automatically executed by means of the procedure execution engine MOIS. This system has been provided by Rhea and enables test automation. Finally the spacecraft is visualized as a 3D object representing its current simulated flight conditions. The open-source software Celestia is used for this purpose.

stb_setup

Tests showed that the spacecraft simulation environment turns out to be very precise compared to similar implementations in Matlab. Thesis topics regarding real-time simulation and software verifiaction are available. Please contact Nico Bucher for further information.

 

System Simulation Software:

Aonix Ameos

All equipment models are written in C++ in the system simulation. Because all models share a common framework a code generator is used to create raw code. In order to generate equipment-specific variables and methods, too, they are defined in UML class diagrams which are also involved in code generation. The UML class diagrams can be created and edited with the software Ameos which is provided by Aonix.

http://www.aonix.com/ameos.html

 

Eclipse Galileo

The C++ source files created with the code generator can be edited using the integrated development environment Eclipse Galileo. They are filled with algorithms which model the functional performance of the equipment. Eclipse is a comfortable application for developing, compiling, debugging and displaying source code. It provides a graphical user interface and allows version management with CVS and SVN which is applied in the software development.

http://www.eclipse.org/

 

SCOS-2000

SCOS-2000 is applied to command the simulator and the connected on-board software. It allows comfortable live displays of telemetry during a simulation run. This mission control system was developed by ESA. It will also be applied in order to command the real satellite in space. SCOS-2000 can be connected both to the simulator and to the connected on-board software via an in-house developed Proxy process.

http://www.egos.esa.int/portal/egos-web/products/MCS/SCOS2000/

 

MOIS

For automated operation of the mission control system the software MOIS (Manufacturing and Operations Information System) developed by Rhea is applied. It enables the creation of a procedure logic and its completion with telecommands and telemetry imported from SCOS-2000. The test procedures can also be executed with MOIS. As MOIS also allows to respond to telemetry, it can replace the operator during simulation runs.

http://www.rheagroup.com/index__products.htm

 

Celestia

In order to depict position and attitude of the simulated satellite not only with graphs created in SCOS-2000, the 3D software Celestia is used. By converting the corresponding CATIA model and importing it into Celestia the satellite can be displayed in its simulated attitude and position. This is enabled by supplying Celestia with specific parameters of the simulator. By this means the application allows a live 3D visualization.

http://www.shatters.net/celestia/

Flying Laptop
Projektleitung, Professur Satellitentechnik

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Sekretariat
Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart


 

 
Unsere Partner

DLR Logo
Logo Airbus D&S
ESA Logo
tesat_logo

 

 

Systemsimulation und Verifikation

Dem Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme steht eine Satellitensimulationsumgebung mit einer vollständigen Kommandierungskette zur Verfügung. Diese besteht aus diversen Entwicklungsboards zum Testen der Onboard Software, einem Echtzeitsimulator zur Simulation von Raumfahrzeugen, einem Missionskontrollsystem und einem System zur automatischen Ausführung von Flug- und Testprozeduren. Desweiteren wurde eine 3D Visualisierungsanlage implementiert. Als erstes Projekt des Stuttgarter Kleinsatellitenprogramms wird der Flying Laptop in dieser Umgebung simuliert um Kontrollalgorithmen und die Bordrechnersoftware bereits testen zu können, bevor die entsprechende Hardware verfügbar ist. Auch Hardware-in-the-Loop Tests können mithilfe dieser Umgebung durchgeführt werden. Die Komponenten dieser Kommandierungskette erfüllen Industriestandards, wovon Studenten, die über studentische Arbeiten mit diesen Komponenten umgehen, profitieren. Den Studenten stehen also echte Industriewerkzeuge zur Verfügung. Die gezeigte Abbildung stellt die Architektur einer solchen Infrastruktur dar.

mdve-outline-500

Der Echtzeitsimulator stellt das Herz dieser Simulationsumgebung dar und wurde von Airbus DS bereitgestellt. Die Bordrechnersoftware läuft entweder auf einem der FPGA Entwicklungsboards oder einem Entwicklungsmodell des Bordrechners. Sowohl der Simulator als auch die Bordrechnersoftware auf dem Entwicklungsboard können über das ESA Missionskontrollsystem SCOS-2000 gesteuert werden, welches später für die Bodenstation des Instituts verwendet wird. Satellitentest- und Flugprodzeduren können mit Hilfe der Computersoftware MOIS bearbeitet und automatisch ausgeführt werden. Dieses System wurde von Rhea zur Verfügung gestellt und ermöglicht die automatisierte Ausführung von Tests. Letztendlich wird der Satellit als 3D Objekt mit der quelloffenen Software Celestia in seinem momentanen Flugzustand angezeigt. Der komplette Aufbau wird unten gezeigt.

stb_setup

Tests zeigten, dass die Satellitensimulationsumgebung, verglichen mit anderen Simulationen (z.B. mithilfe von Matlab), sehr genau arbeitet. Studien- und Diplomarbeiten sind in verschiedenen Betätigungsfeldern vorhanden. Ansprechpartner hierzu ist Nico Bucher.

 

Systemsimulation Software:

Aonix Ameos

Alle in der Systemsimulation verwendeten Komponentenmodelle, z.B. für Sensoren und Aktuatoren, werden mit der Programmiersprache C++ abgebildet. Da sämtliche Modelle die gleiche Grundstruktur haben, wird ein Codegenerator benutzt, der den Rohcode erzeugt. Um mit dem Codegenerator auch bereits die benötigten Variablen und Methoden zu erstellen, werden diese in UML-Klassendiagrammen definiert und daraus miterzeugt. Die UML-Klassendiagramme können mit der von Aonix bereitgestellten Software Ameos erstellt und bearbeitet werden.

http://www.aonix.com/ameos.html

 

Eclipse Galileo

Die nun erzeugten C++ Quelldateien werden mit der Software Eclipse Galileo bearbeitet und mit der funktionalen Algorithmik gefüllt, die das Verhalten der jeweiligen Komponente wiedergibt. Eclipse bietet neben der komfortablen Verknüpfung von Entwicklung, Kompilierung, Fehlersuche und Darstellung des Quelltextes auf einer grafischen Benutzeroberfläche eine hervorragende Handhabung zur Versionsverwaltung mit CVS und SVN, was in der Entwicklung ausgiebig genutzt wird.

http://www.eclipse.org/

 

SCOS-2000

Sowohl zur Kommandierung des Simulators und der damit verbundenen Onboard Software wie auch zur komfortablen und direkten Anzeige von Telemetrie während eines Simulationslaufes wird das Missionskontrollsystem SCOS-2000 genutzt. Diese von der ESA entwickelte Software wird auch später zur Kommandierung des realen Satelliten im All genutzt. SCOS-2000 kann mit einem eigens dafür entwickelten Proxy sowohl mit dem Simulator wie auch der daran angekoppelten Onboard-Software verbunden werden.

http://www.egos.esa.int/portal/egos-web/products/MCS/SCOS2000/

 

MOIS

Zur automatischen Ansteuerung des Missionskontrollsystems wird die von Rhea entwickelte Software MOIS (Manufacturing and Operations Information System) genutzt. Diese ermöglicht die Erstellung von Prozedurlogik und deren Füllung mit aus SCOS-2000 importierten Telekommados und Telemetrie. Die Testprozeduren können schließlich auch ausgeführt werden. Da MOIS in der Lage ist, auf Telemetrie zu reagieren, kann der Operator während Simulationen durch das Programm ersetzt werden.

http://www.rheagroup.com/index__products.htm

 

Celestia

Um Position, Lage und Bewegung des simulierten Satelliten nicht nur anhand der Diagramme in SCOS-2000 interpretieren zu können, wird das Programm Celestia genutzt. Durch Konvertierung des entsprechenden CATIA-Modells und Import nach Celestia kann der Satellit in seiner simulierten Lage und Position dreidimensional dargestellt werden. Dies wird durch Übergabe der jeweiligen Parameter des Simulators an Celestia verwirklicht. Das Programm ermöglicht so eine 3D live Visualisierung.

http://www.shatters.net/celestia/