Satellite operating system

To operate a satellite in orbit the mentioned radio hardware is not sufficient. An additional ground control operating system is needed, which receives, controls and encodes the commands for the satellite, as well as decoding and interpreting the satellites' telemetry. This is done in a new way compared to other universities. The IRS uses the satellite operation system SCOS-2000, which was developed by ESA and is used by industry. In combination with the CCSDS - radio protocol and the ESA Packet Utilisation Standard (PUS) the IRS missions are succeeding the common european satellite industry standard. The trained students receive an unprecedented insight into the software, structures and problems which they will encounter in their working life. This will give them an advantage compared to other universities.  

To automate the satellite control the software MOIS, developed by Rhea System is used. This software makes it possible to run predefined procedures automaticaly to control SCOS-2000.

To rehearse the operation of the satellites and to functionally test the hardware and software of the ground station at an early stage, the EADS-Astrium developed simulator, which is also used for system simulation, will be used. Therewith the operational procedures can be verified and with the assistance of a relay satellite the transmission path can be tested before the launch of the satellites.

Another tool to improve the satellite operation was developed at the institute for 3D visualization of the satellite in orbit. It is based on the open source software Celestia, in which a 3D model of the satellite is loaded into. During operation received telemetry data e.g. attitude information can be visualized easily to get a direct impression of the current attitude of the satellite. Another planned feature is to overlay the current field of view of the cameras as well as the subsequent processing of telemetry data.

Satellitenbetriebssystem

Um den eigenen Satelliten im Orbit steuern zu können, ist oben beschriebene Funkhardware leider nicht ausreichend. Am Boden wird zusätzlich ein Betriebssystem benötigt, das die Kommandos an den Satelliten enthält, überprüft und kodiert, sowie die Telemetrie des Satelliten dekodiert und interpretiert. Dabei geht das IRS einen neuen Weg verglichen zu anderen Universitäten. Zur Kontrolle der Satelliten wird das von der ESA entwickelte Satellitenbetriebssystem SCOS-2000 eingesetzt. In Kombination mit dem CCSDS-Funkprotokoll und dem ESA Packet Utilisation Standard (PUS) folgen die IRS Missionen den in der europäischen Satellitenindustrie üblichen Standards. Die hier ausgebildeten Studenten bekommen so einen einzigartigen Einblick in die später in ihrem Berufsleben auftretenden Programme, Strukturen aber auch Probleme. Ein nicht zu unterschätzender Wettberwerbsvorteil gegenüber anderen Hochschulen.

Zur Automatisierung der Satellitensteuerung wird das von Rhea System entwickelte MOIS eingesetzt. Diese Software ermöglicht es, vorgefertigte Prozeduren zur Steuerung von SCOS-2000 automatisch ablaufen zu lassen.

Um frühzeitig den Betrieb der Satelliten zu üben und um die Hard- und Software in der Bodenstation funktional zu testen, wird der in der Systemsimulation verwendete, von EADS-Astrium entwickelte Simulator auch in der Bodenstation verwendet. Damit können die Prozeduren des Betriebs schon vor dem Start des Satelliten verifiziert und mithilfe eines Relaissatelliten auch die Funkstrecke getestet werden.

Als weiteres Tool zur Verbesserung des Satellitenbetriebs wurde am Institut eine 3D-Visualisierung des Satelliten im Orbit entwickelt. Diese basiert auf der Open-Sorce Software Celestia, in das ein 3D-Modell des Satelliten geladen wurde. Im Betrieb können live aktuell empfangene Telemetriedaten z.B. über die Lage geladen werden. Damit erhält man sofort einen Eindruck über die aktuelle Lage des Satelliten. Als weiters Feature ist geplant, das aktuelle Sichtfeld der Kameras einblenden zu können. Auch die nachträgliche Verarbeitung der Telemetriedaten ist möglich.