Ground Station Network

In addition to the institute's ground station in Stuttgart, several other external stations are being used for satellite operations. Due to the almost polar (sun synchronous) orbit of the Flying Laptop, ground stations near the North or South Pole allow for the highest amout of contact time per day.

A direct connection has been established to the German Space Operations Center GSOC of the German Aerospace Center DLR. With this connection, it is possible to use different DLR ground stations for commanding the satellite and data reception in real time. This includes a station in Weilheim in Oberbayern, which belongs to the Institute of Space Operations and Astronaut Training as well as two stations close to the poles of the German Remote Sensing Data Center, namely GARS O'Higgins on the Antarctic Peninsula and Inuvik in northern Canada.

The DLR stations were used intensively during the first four days after launch in order to supervise the satellite as closely as possible during this critical phase. During nominal operations, the station in Weilheim can still be used nominally while the other DLR stations are only used in case of major emergencies.

During nominal operations, another ground station in Ny Ålesund on Svalbard, which belongs to the German Research Centre for Geosciences in Potsdam, is also used. Through this station, telemetry data of the satellite system as well as payload data like images are downlinked from the satellite to earth twice a day. Thus, the station provides additional ground contact time to allow donwlinking a larger amount of data from the satellite offline.

As the payload data downlink is in the ham radio S-Band, interested ham radio amateurs possessing the necessary hardware can also receive these data.

 

ground_network

Image: The ground station network, Copyright University of Stuttgart

 

20170717-134817_20170717_134817_Wendlandt

Image: GARS O'Higgins, Copyright Kai Wendlandt

 

image_srs_nya_02f50f95a0

Image: Ny Ålesund, Copyright GFZ Potsdam

Bodenstationsnetzwerk

Neben der institutseigenen Bodenstation in Stuttgart werden für den Flying Laptop verschiedene externe Bodenstationen für den Satellitenbetrieb verwendet. Aufgrund des polnahen (sonnensynchronen) Orbits des Flying Laptop bieten dabei Stationen in der Nähe des Nord- oder Südpols besonders viel Kontaktzeit pro Tag.

Ein direkter Anschluss besteht zum Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum GSOC des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt DLR. Über diese Verbindung ist es möglich, verschiedene Bodenstationen des DLR für Echtzeitkommandierung und -datenempfang zu nutzen. Dies beinhaltet eine Bodenstation in Weilheim in Oberbayern des Insituts für Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining sowie zwei polnahe Stationen des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums, nämlich GARS O'Higgins auf der Antarktischen Halbinsel und Inuvik in Nordkanada.

Die DLR Stationen wurden während der ersten vier Tage nach dem Satellitenstart intensiv genutzt, um den Satelliten in dieser kritischen Phase möglichst rund um die Uhr überwachen zu können. Für den nominellen Betrieb steht weiterhin die Station in Weilheim zur Verfügung, die anderen DLR Stationen können in absoluten Notfällen ebenfalls verwendet werden.

Während des nominellen Betriebs des Satelliten wird außerdem noch die Bodenstation Ny Ålesund auf Spitzbergen des Geoforschungszentrums Potsdam genutzt. Über diese Station werden zwei Mal täglich sowohl Telemetriedaten des Satelliten als auch aufgenommene Nutzlastdaten wie zum Beispiel Bilddaten vom Satelliten zur Erde gesendet. Die Station bietet damit zusätzliche Kontaktzeit um eine größere Menge an Daten vom Satelliten offline empfangen zu können.

Da der Nutzlastdatendownlink im Amateurfunk S-Band stattfindet, können auch interessierte Funkamateure mit der nötigen Hardware diese Daten empfangen.

 

Bodenstationsnetzwerk

Bild: Das Bodenstationsnetzwerk, Copyright Universität Stuttgart

 

Weilheim_Luftbild2_xl

Bild: Station Weilheim. Copyright DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

 

inuvik_antenne

Bild: Inuvik Antenne, Copyright DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

 

20170717-134817_20170717_134817_Wendlandt

Bild: GARS O'Higgins, Copyright Kai Wendlandt

 

image_srs_nya_02f50f95a0

Bild: Ny Ålesund, Copyright GFZ Potsdam

 

Radio Station Malaysia

Bild: Amateur Radio Station Malaysia Copyright M. Boettcher, IRS.