Thermal Control

The absence of a dense atmosphere in an Earth orbit eliminates the natural heat transfer though convection between the satellite and its environment. Therefore, temperatures ranging from -100°C to +150°C are possible, whereas the electronics in satellites are only certified for operation between -20°C and +80°C.Outside of this temperature range, it is likely that electronical connections on circuit boards will break or melt.

The objective of the thermal control system is to keep the temperature of the satellite and its components within the allowed temperature ranges. The thermal control system consists of several elements such as temperature sensors and elements that influence the temperature on the satellite.

The temperature inside the satellite is measured via Pt1000 platinum temperature sensors. These sensors increase their electric resistance during rising temperatures and this resistance can be measured. Pt-elements provide a better average accuracy over the entire possible temperature range of the satellite compared to other temperature sensors and they do not require measuring amplifiers.

Temperatursensor

In order to influence the temperature with passive means, the main body of the satellite is covered mostly with MLI (Multi Layer Insulation) to minimize the radiation exchange between the satellite and its environment. MLI consists of multiple stacked layers of film made of e.g. polyimides which are seperate by fine synthetic meshes. By these means, each film layer decreases the absorption and emission of radiation by the satellite.

mli-500

On all surfaces not covered with MLI, so called SSMs (Second Surface Mirrors) will be applied, which serve as radiators emitting the satellite's heat in the form of infrared radiation while reflecting the sunlight.

ssm-en

The batteries and the star trackers are both equipped with appropriate radiators and are insulated from the rest of the satellite to ensure the narrow temperature ranges of these components.

The satellite is also equipped with electrical heating films, which are activated in case the temperatures are too low. These heaters are primarily controlled by the on-board computer of the satellite. In case of an on-board computer failure, the heating films are controlled by thermostats (bimetal-switches).

bimetall-500

Thermalkontrolle

Da es in einem Orbit um die Erde keine signifikante Atmosphäre gibt, fehlt der natürliche Wärmeaustauschmechanismus durch Konvektion des Satelliten mit seiner Umgebung. Temperaturen zwischen -100°C und +150°C sind dadurch möglich. Die Elektronik in einem Satelliten ist meist nur für Temperaturen zwischen -20°C und 80°C qualifiziert. Außerhalb dieses Bereichs kann es dazu kommen, dass z.B. die elektrischen Verbindungen auf Platinen aufbrechen oder schmelzen.

Die Aufgabe des Thermalkontrollsystems ist es, die Temperatur des Satelliten mit seinen Komponenten in einem zulässigen Bereich zu halten. Das Kontrollsystem des Flying Laptop besteht aus mehreren Teilen wie etwa Temperatursensoren und Elementen und zur Beeinflussung der Temperatur.

Die Temperaturen im Satelliten werden mit Hilfe von Pt1000 Platin-Temperatursensoren gemessen. Diese Sensoren vergrößern bei steigender Temperatur ihren elektrischen Widerstand, der direkt gemessen werden kann. Pt-Elemente weisen eine bessere mittlere Genauigkeit über den gesamten möglichen Temperaturbereich im Satelliten auf als andere Temperatursensoren und kommen ohne Messverstärker aus.

Temperatursensor

Um die Temperatur passiv zu beeinflussen, wird der Hauptkörper des Satelliten weitestgehend mit MLI („Multi Layer Insulation") umhüllt, um den Strahlungsaustausch mit der Umgebung an diesen Stellen zu minimieren. MLI besteht dabei aus mehreren gestapelten Lagen von Folien aus z.B. Polyimiden, die durch ein feines Kunststoffnetz von einander getrennt sind. Auf diese Weise verringert jede Folienschicht somit die Aufnahme und Abgabe von Strahlung des Satelliten.

mli-500

An den nicht mit MLI bedeckten Stellen werden SSMs („Second Surface Mirrors") als Radiatoren angebracht, welche das Sonnenlicht gut reflektieren und dabei gleichzeitig die Wärme des Satelliten als Infrarotstrahlung abgeben.

ssm

Die Batterien und die Sternkameras sind mit einem eigenen Radiator ausgestattet und vom Rest des Satelliten weitestgehend isoliert, um den sehr engen Temperaturbereich dieser Komponenten zu garantieren.

Für den Fall, dass die Temperaturen zu niedrig sein sollten, sind im Satelliten elektrische Heizfolien verteilt, die bei Bedarf eingeschaltet werden können. Diese Heizer werden primär vom Hauptcomputer des Satelliten geschaltet. Falls der Hauptcomputer ausfallen sollte, werden die Heizfolien über Thermostate (Bimetall-Schalter) kontrolliert.

bimetall-500