Communications

In satellite communication systems, two systems with different functions are commonly distinguished: The Telemetry, Tracking and Control (TT&C) System and the Payload Data Downlink System. The TT&C system is used to transmit housekeeping data, to receive commands and to determine the position and the orbit of the satellite. It has to perform with a high reliability, but the necessary data rates are not that high. Typical data rates are a few kbit/s for the uplink (ground station -> satellite) and about 100kbit/s for the downlink (satellite -> ground station). Sometimes it is also referred as the TM/TC system, if no tracking is used. The Payload Data Downlink System, on the other hand, is used exclusively to transmit payload data. Unlike TT&C and TM/TC system, the required reliability is lower as the required data rates are much higher.

Flying-Laptop Antenna CharacteristicIllustration: Measurement of the antenna characteristics of FLP. Top left: DDS LHCP, Bottom left: DDS RHCP, Top right: TMTC RHCP, Bottom right: TMTC LHCP

 

TM/TC-System of the Flying Laptop

The TMTC system of the Flying Laptop is a highly reliable commercial system operating on commercial S-Band frequencies (between 2.0 GHz and 2.3 GHz) at a data rate of 128 kbit/s for the TM downlink and 4 kbit/s for the TC uplink. In order to improve the reliability, both the receiver and the transmitter are built redundantly so that the TMTC system is still fully functional in case one unit fails. The FLP is equipped with two hemispherical turnstile antennas for the TM/TC system so that telemetry can be sent and telecommands can be received at all times, regardless of the attitude of the satellite.

  Downlink Uplink Antennas
Frequency 2263.5 MHz 2083.5 MHz  
Bandwidth 350 kHz 8 kHz  
Data rate (net) 56 kbps 4 kbps  
Modulation BPSK (NRZ-L) PM (16 kHz BPSK sub-carrier)  
Coding CCSDS (Conv. R=1/2, K=7 & R.S. 255/223) CCSDS (BCH)  
Sensitivity / Output power -118 dBm 28 dBm  
Required Eb/N0 4.5 dB 13.5 dB  
Polarization     RHCP
Max. directivity     5 dBi
Theta3dB angle     110 deg

 

Payload Data Downlink System

The payload Data Downlink System (DDS) is used to downlink payload data, especially larger amounts of image data generated by the cameras of the Flying Laptop (MICS / PAMCAM) to a ground station. The Flying Laptop DDS uses data rates of up to 10Mbit/s. Because the available space and the electrical power are limited, a directional horn antenna is used, which has a much higher gain in boresight than the TT&C rod antennas for example. Due to the antenna’s directivity, its boresight needs to be directed to a receiving ground station in order to transmit data to the ground.

The DDS is designed to operate on ham radio S-Band frequencies between 2.4 GHz and 2.45 GHz. It receives the data it shall transmit to the ground as well as the clock signal from the Payload On-Board Computer (PLOC). The whole system is being developed at the IRS.

  DDS Downlink Antenna
Frequency 2408.0 MHz  
Bandwidth 10 MHz  
Data rate (net) 5.5 Mbps  
Modulation QPSK (NRZ-L, SRRC α=0.4)  
Coding CCSDS (R.S. 255/223 & Pseudo-Random.)  
Output power 30 dBm  
Required Eb/N0 7.8 dB  
Polarization   LHCP
Max. directivity   13.5 dBi
Theta3dB angle   15 deg

Kommunikation

In der Satellitenkommunikation werden in der Regel zwei Bereiche unterschieden: das Telemetry, Tracking and Control (TT&C) System und das Payload Daten Downlink System. Das TT&C-System wird für die Übertragung der Housekeeping Daten (Zustandsdaten des Satelliten), dem Empfang der Kommandos und zur Positions- bzw. Orbitbestimmung verwendet. Es muss äußerst zuverlässig arbeiten, muss dafür aber nicht allzu hohe Datenraten von einigen kbit/s für den Uplink (Boden -> Satellit) und etwa 100kbit/s für den Downlink (Satellit -> Boden) erreichen. Wird kein Tracking system verwendet, spricht man auch häufig vom s.g. TM/TC System. Das Payload Daten Downlink System hingegen wird ausschließlich für die Übertragung der Nutzlastdaten verwendet. Die Anforderungen an die Zuverlässigkeit sind hier nicht ganz so hoch, dagegen müssen höhere Datenraten erzielt werden.

Flying-Laptop Antenna Characteristic

Bild: Messung der Antennencharacteristic von FLP. Links oben: DDS LHCP, Links unten: DDS RHCP, Rechts oben: TMTC RHCP, Rechts unten: TMTC LHCP

 

TM/TC-System des Flying Laptop

Das TM/TC System des Flying Laptop ist ein hochzuverlässiges kommerzielles System, das auf Frequenzen im kommerziellen S-Band zwischen 2.0 GHz und 2.3 GHz mit einer Datenrate von 128kbit/s empfängt und mit 4kbit/s sendet. Zur Erhöhung der Zuverlässigkeit sind Empfänger und Sender jeweils doppelt vorhanden, so dass bei einem Ausfall einer Einheit die Funktionalität des TT&C Systems noch gegeben ist. Damit in jeder möglichen Fluglage sichergestellt ist, dass der Funkkontakt zum Satelliten hergestellt werden kann, besitzt der FLP zwei Stabantennen mit annähernd hemisphärischer Charakteristik.

  TM downlink TC uplink Antenne
Frequenz 2263.5 MHz 2083.5 MHz  
Bandbreite 350 kHz 8 kHz  
Datenrate (netto) 56 kbps 4 kbps  
Modulation BPSK (NRZ-L) PM (16 kHz BPSK Subträger)  
Codierung CCSDS (Conv. R=1/2,K=7 & R.S. 255/223) CCSDS (BCH 63/56)  
Sensitivität / Ausgangsleistung -118 dBm 28 dBm  
benötigtes Eb/N0 4.5 dB 13.5 dB  
Polarisierung     RHCP
Maximialer Gewinn     5 dBi
3dB Keulenbreite     110°

 

Payload Daten Downlink System

Das Payload Daten Downlink System (DDS) soll die von der Nutzlast gesammelten Daten, insbesondere größere Mengen an Bilddaten von der MICS oder der PAMCAM, an eine Bodenstation übertragen. Hierbei werden höhere Datenraten von bis zu 10Mbit/s angestrebt. Da sowohl der Bauraum als auch die elektrische Energie begrenzt sind, wird eine Hornantenne mit Richtcharakteristik eingesetzt, die in Hauptstrahlrichtung einen deutlich höheren Antennengewinn aufweist als zum Beispiel die Stabantennen des TT&C-Systems. Daher muss der Satellit aber auch auf eine empfangsbereite Bodenstation ausgerichtet werden, wenn die Bilddaten zur Erde übertragen werden sollen.

Das DDS ist auf S-Band Amateurfunkfrequenzen zwischen 2.40 GHz und 2.45 GHz ausgelegt. Es bekommt die zu übertragenden Nutzlastdaten sowie das Taktsignal vom Payload On-Board Computer (PLOC). Das System wurde komplett am IRS entwickelt und basiert auf COTS Komponenten.

  DDS downlink Antenne
Amateurfunk-Rufzeichen DP0FLP  
Frequenz 2408.0 MHz  
Bandbreite 10 MHz  
Datenrate (netto) 5.5 Mbps  
Modulation QPSK (NRZ-L, SRRC α=0.4)  
Codierung CCSDS (R.S. 255/223 IL=5)  
Ausgangsleistung 30 dBm  
benötigtes Eb/N0 7.8 dB  
Polarisierung   LHCP
max. Gewinn   13.5 dBi
3dB-Keulenbreite   15°