Flying Laptop
Project Management, Professor of Satellite Technology

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Secretary
Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart


 

Our partners

DLR Logo
Logo Airbus D&S
ESA Logo
tesat_logo

 

 

Systems

The small satellite Flying Laptop is the first satellite of the Small Satellites Program at the University of Stuttgart. This mission shall establish the foundation for the required infrastructure as well as the expertise for the Small Satellites Program of the Institute of Space Systems (IRS), University of Stuttgart. The satellite is being developed and built at the IRS and will be operated with the institute's own ground station. The design, development, construction and future operation are primarily done by Ph.D. students and undergraduate students.

FLP_1_transparent_Klein

Flying Laptop will have the dimensions of 60x70x85 cm³ and a mass of 120 kg. It is three-axis stabilized and will orbit and survey the earth in a low polar orbit of approximately 600 km. The Flying Laptop shall be launched into orbit as a secondary payload. The objectives of the Flying Laptop are the test and verification of new technologies, e.g. a reconfigurable FPGA onboard computer, a novel unfolding meachanism and a GPS experiment, as well as scientific earth surveillance.

The projected lifetime of Flying Laptop shall be two years. At the end of the mission a de-orbit mechanism for faster reentry will be activated. By means of this mechanism, the FLP follows the European Code of Conduct for Space Debris Mitigation.

Flying Laptop
Projektleitung, Professur Satellitentechnik

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sabine Klinkner

Sekretariat
Prof. Klinkner

Annegret Möller


Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme
Pfaffenwaldring 29
70569 Stuttgart


 

 
Unsere Partner

DLR Logo
Logo Airbus D&S
ESA Logo
tesat_logo

 

 

Systeme

Der Kleinsatellit Flying Laptop ist der erste Satellit des Kleinsatellitenprogramms der Universität Stuttgart. Diese Mission soll die Expertise und die notwendige Infrastruktur für das Satellitenprogramm am Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme (IRS) der Universität Stuttgart etablieren. Der Satellit wird am IRS entwickelt, gebaut und soll mit der institutseigenen Bodenstation betrieben werden. Die Entwicklung, der Bau sowie der spätere Betrieb werden primär von Doktoranden und Studenten durchgeführt.

FLP_1_transparent_Klein

Mit den Maßen 60x70x85 cm³ und einer Masse von etwa 120 kg soll der drei Achsen-stabilisierte Satellit in einem niedrigen polaren Orbit von etwa 600 km die Erde umkreisen und beobachten. Der Flying Laptop soll als sekundäre Nutzlast in den Orbit gebracht werden. Ziele der Mission bestehen in der Erprobung neuer Technologien (wie ein rekonfigurierbarer FPGA Nutzlast-Bordrechner, ein neuartiger Entfaltmechanismus oder ein GPS Experiment) und in der Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Erdbeobachtung der Erdoberfläche in mehreren Wellenlängenbereichen.

Die Lebenszeit des Satelliten soll mind. 2 Jahre sein. Am Ende der Mission wird ein De-Orbit-Mechanismus ausgelöst, der den Satelliten wieder eintreten und verglühen lassen soll. Damit trägt der FLP einem Code of Conduct for Space Debris Mitigation der europäischen Raumfahrt Rechnung, der zum Abbau bzw. zur Vermeidung von Space Debris verabschiedet wurde.