Power Supply

The electrical power supply of the Flying Laptop is facilitated by three solar panels, which were manufactured by Airbus Defence and Space. One solar panel is body mounted, two are deployed once the satellite is launched and separated from the launcher. The bus voltage is unregulated between 19V and 26V. The necessary voltage for every component is obtained by DC/DC converters dedicated to every unit.

The Power Control and Distribution Unit (PCDU) was manufactured by Vectronic Aerospace. It detects the launcher separation, controls the power distribution to the components and adjusts the charging of the battery. Beyond these default operations the PCDU executes further tasks. The PCDU collects data, currents and voltages of a majority of the satellite´s sensors and forwards them to the On-Board Computer (OBC) for further processing. Together with the OBC system the PCDU is one of the central controlling units, which can switch over to the redundant unit branch in case of an emergency. In particular, the PCDU can activate the available redundant units in case there is a breakdown of the OBC. The PCDU features dedicated input interfaces for High Priority Commands (HPCs). The HPCs are decoded and sent to the PCDU without involving the OBC. Thus, essential telecommands can be received and executed by the PCDU, fulfilling its purpose as a backup system.

shaker_test

As a secondary power source, the FLP is equipped with a battery (see image). It consists of three independent battery strings made of Lithiumironphosphate cells manufactured by A123 Systems (type ANR26650M1-B). Each of these strings is directly connected to one of the solar panels. As the middle body mounted solar panel generates less power than the wing panels, the battery string for this panel consists of 28 cells, whereas the strings for the wing panels consist of 35 cells each. In total, a voltage of 19V to 26V is yielded at a total capacity of all strings combined of roughly 700Wh. Additional circuitry is used to balance the cell voltages and to send a signal to stop charging to the PCDU if the voltage of one cell reaches the maximum allowed value. The battery is used to supply power to the satellite system during eclipse and to provide additional energy during maneoeuvres in which the power consumption of the system exceeds the power generated by the solar panels.

Energieversorgung

Die elektrische Energieversorgung des Flying Laptop wird über drei Solarpaneele sichergestellt, die von Airbus Defence and Space gefertigt wurden. Ein Solarpaneel ist body-mounted, zwei Solarpaneele wurden nach dem Start im Orbit entfaltet. Der Flying Laptop besitzt eine unregulierte Busspannung von 19V bis 26V. Die erforderliche Spannung für die Geräte wird dann über einen DC/DC-Wandler direkt an der Komponente erzeugt.

Die Energiekontroll- und –verteilungseinheit, die sogenannte Power Control and Distribution Unit (PCDU) wurde von Vectronic Aerospace hergestellt. Sie detektiert die Separation von der Startrakete, reguliert die Energieverteilung zu den Komponenten und überwacht das Laden der Batterie. Über diese Standardaufgaben hinaus erfüllt sie aber auch noch weitere Funktionen. Sie erfasst Daten, Ströme und Spannungen der meisten Satellitensensoren und leitet diese an den Bordcomputer zur Auswertung weiter. Neben dem Bordcomputer ist die PCDU die zweitwichtigste Kontrolleinheit des Satellitensystems, die in Notfällen auch die redundanten Komponentenzweige aktivieren kann. Vor allem kann in einem Fehlerfall des Bordrechnersystems auf die verfügbaren Redundanzen umgeschaltet werden. Die PCDU besitzt eigens dazu Schnittstellen um die sogenannten ‚High Priority Commands‘ (HPCs) zu empfangen. Die HPCs werden ohne Umweg über den Bordrechner dekodiert und an die PCDU gesandt, sodass diese auch bei Ausfall der meisten Systeme essentielle Telekommandos empfangen und ausführen kann.

shaker_test

Als sekundäre Energiequelle befindet sich an Bord des Flying Laptop eine Batterie (siehe Bild), die aus drei voneinander unabhängigen Batteriestrings aus Lithiumeisenphosphatzellen besteht. Die Batteriezellen wurden von A123 Systems hergestellt (Typ: ANR26650M1-B). Jeder dieser Strings ist direkt mit einem der Solarpaneele verbunden. Da das mittlere Paneel weniger Energie liefert als die ausklappbaren Paneele, besteht der Batteriestring für dieses Paneel aus 28 Zellen und die Strings für die ausklappbaren Paneele aus jeweils 35 Zellen. Insgesamt wird eine Spannung zwischen 19V und 26V bei einer Gesamtkapazität aller drei Strings von gut 700Wh erreicht. Eine zusätzliche Elektronik sorgt für einen Ausgleich der Zellspannungen und meldet an die PCDU, wenn eine Zelle die maximale Spannung erreicht hat, so dass das Laden rechtzeitig abgebrochen werden kann. Die Batterie wird benötigt, um den Satelliten in den Schattenphasen mit Energie zu versorgen und um bei Anwendungen mit sehr hoher Leistungsaufnahme kurzzeitig die benötigte Energie bereit zu stellen.