PLOC

For payload control as well as for the management of the payload data, Flying Laptop is useing a dedicated Payload On-board Computer (PLOC).

 

The heart of this computer is a Virtex-II-Pro FPGA from Xilinx. It is build into a board, the central processing node (CPN), which was developed and build by the Fraunhofer Institute for computer architecture and software engineering. The use of this FPGA leads to a high parallisation, which is necessary for a simultaneous control of different payloads and for receiving payload data simultaneously.

CPN also has another smaller FPGA, the Spartan 2, for its own management. This FPGA is responsible for the CPN itself and, therefore, not only sends house keeping data but also configures the main FPGA. For the second task it has access to 3 flash chips to save configuration files on them. The usage of a second FPGA allows to still be able to program the main FPGA even after launch.

In addition to the FPGAs the CPN also has elements for intermediate storage of payload data. For this task it has 3 DDR SDRAM chips with each haveing a capacity of 128MB. Also it has access to 4 SSRAM chips with 4.5MB each.

Beside these main features CPN has even more features like a comparator for current monitoring, an EEPROM and a NAND flash.

Thumbnail image

 

CPN not only is responsible for the payload itself but also for the Mass Memory Unit (MMU). This unit is used for saveing payload data. Useing the MMU CPN has access to 2GB flash memory. The MMU was developed, build, tested and programmed at the Institute of Space Systems. The core of the MMU is a ProASIC3L FPGA from Actel.

 

The combination of CPN and MMU is a complete unit for payload control. Because of redundancy there are two such units implemented in PLOC.

The PLOC's electronic is completed with the Power Board. This board was also developed, build and tested at the Institut for Space Systems. The tasks of this board is primarily to convert the bus voltage to a lower voltage. But it also controlls the start up procedure and the emergency shutdown.

catia_ploc_closed

PLOC - CAD Model

PLOC

Für die Ansteuerung der Nutzlasten sowie für die Verwaltung der Nutzlastdaten verwendet der Flying Laptop einen dedizierten Nutzlastcomputer, den PayLoad On-board Computer – PLOC.

Das Herzstück dieses Computers ist ein Virtex-II-Pro FPGA von Xilinx. Dieser befindet sich auf einer eigens, vom Frauenhofer Institut für Rechnerarchitektur und Softwaretechnik, entwickelten Platine, der Central Processing Node (CPN). Die Verwendung des FPGAs führt zu einer hohen Parallelisierung, welche bei einer zeitgleichen Ansteuerung verschiedener Nutzlasten, sowie der Verarbeitung zeitgleich eintreffenden Nutzlastdaten, notwendig ist.

Der CPN besitzt zur eigenen Verwaltung einen weiteren kleineren FPGA, den Spartan 2. Dieser ist für die Platine an sich zuständig und liefert damit nicht nur grundliegende Daten der Platine sondern ist ebenfalls für die Konfiguration des Virtex-II-Pro verantwortlich. Für diese Aufgabe benutzt er 3 Flash Chips um Konfigurationen des Haupt FPGAs zu speichern. Die Verwendung des zweiten FPGAs ermöglicht es den Virtex-II-Pro auch nach dem Launch mit einer neuen Konfiguration zu versehen.

Zusätzlich zu den FPGAs verfügt der CPN auch über Elemente zur Zwischenspeicherung von Nutzlastdaten. Hierfür stehen 3 DDR SDRAM Bausteine mit jeweils 128MB zur Verfügung sowie 4 SSRAM Chips mit jeweils 4,5MB.

Neben diesen Hauptmerkmalen verfügt der CPN noch über weitere Elemente wie u.a. einem Comperator zur Stomüberwachung, EEPROM und einem NAND Flash.

Thumbnail image

Der Zuständigkeitsbereich des CPN umfasst nicht nur die Nutzlasten sondern auch eine dedizierte Mass Memory Unit – MMU zur Speicherung von Nutzlastdaten. Über diese MMU hat er zugriff auf 2GB Flash Speicher. Die MMU wurde komplett am Institut entwickelt, gebaut, getestet und programmiert. Auch ihr Kern besteht aus einem FPGA, wobei die MMU einen ProASIC3L FPGA der Firma Actel verwendet.

 

Die Kombination aus CPN und MMU ergibt hierbei immer eine abgeschlossene Einheit zur Nutzlastansteuerung. Im PLOC sind aus Redundanzgründen zwei dieser Einheiten verbaut.

Abgeschlossen wird die Elektronik des PLOCs mit einem eigens entwickelten Power Board. Ebenso wie die MMU wurde dieses im Haus entwickelt, gebaut und getestet. Nicht nur soll dieses die Busspannung auf ein nidrigeres Niveau transformieren, sondern auch den Einschaltvorgang steuern und in Problemfällen einen Notabschaltung durchführen.

catia_ploc_closed