PAMCAM

The narrow field-of-views of the scientific camera system MICS enforce the request for an additional camera system capable to provide an overview of the observed landscape. The so called Panoramic Camera (PAMCAM) should be able to take color images in order to increase the public outreach of the Small Satellite Program. During MICS operations the PAMCAM will be used simultaneously but with a reduced capture frequency.

The figures below show the CAD model and the EQM of PAMCAM. The camera system has a mass of 400 g and dimensions of 126 x 78 x 58 mm³. These values include housing, electronics and optics.

 pamcam_cad_model_small


PAMCAM is based on the COTS-camera BCi5-LS-B-40 manufactured by C-Cam Technologies which is a division of Vector International. The generic electronics has been modified and supplemented with an interface board and a power board developed at IRS. The power consumption of the camera is below 2 W. The camera is equipped with the IBIS5A-1300 CMOS sensor designed by FillFactory. It has 1280 by 1024 pixels with a pixel pitch of 6.7 μm and features a Bayer RGB color pattern. The digitalisation is conducted with 10 bits and image data is transmitted as raw data. The lens MEVIS-CF 2516 from Qioptiq has been modified to withstand high mechanical loads and was integrated into the camera. It has a focal length of 25 mm and an f-number of 1.6. PAMCAM can cover a field-of-view of approximately 20°x16°. This results in a swath width of 200 km and a ground sample distance of around 160 m from a 600 km orbit. The SNR has been conservatively calculated to be above 100 for land cover targets under daylight condition.

pamcam_eqm_s

Camera control and data reception is conducted by the Payload On-Board Computer PLOC. The data interface consists of 7 LVDS lines, where 6 are used to transmit the image data and 1 for controlling the camera.

The camera has been qualified with a combined thermal-vacuum-cycling test according to ECSS standards for an operation within a temperature range of -10°C to 40°C. Non-operating temperature range is -20°C to 65°C. The camera also passed the mechanical qualification with 20 gRMS.

The following testimage shows the Fernsehturm Stuttgart seen from the University campus.

pamcamimage0000004304_small

PAMCAM

Das kleine Sichtfeld des Wissenschaftlichen Kamerasystems MICS macht den Einsatz eines weiteren Kamerasystem sinnvoll, welches einen Überblick über die beobachteten Landschaft bietet. Daher wurde die sogenannte Panorama Kamera (engl. PAMCAM) entwickelt, welche Farbfotos unter anderem zu Verbesserung der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit aufnimmt. Sie wird parallel zu MICS mit reduzierter Aufnahmefrequenz betrieben.

Die Bilder unten zeigt das CAD Modell sowie das EQM der PAMCAM. Die Kamera hat eine Masse von 400 g und Maße von 126 x 78 x 58 mm³ inklusive Gehäuse, Elektronik und Optik.

 pamcam_cad_model_small

PAMCAM basiert auf der COTS-Kamera BCi5-LS-B-40, die von C-Cam Technologies, einer Division von Vector International, gefertigt wird. Die Standardelektronik wurde modifiziert und um zwei am IRS entwickelte Platinen erweitert. Der Leistungsbedarf der Kamera liegt unter 2 W. Sie ist mit dem  IBIS5A-1300 CMOS-Sensor von FillFactory ausgestattet. Dieser besitzt 1280 x 1024 Pixel mit einem Pixelabstand von 6,7 µm ausgestattet mit einem Bayer-Pattern. Die Pixel werden mit 10 bit digitalisiert und die Bilder im RAW Format übertragen. Die verbaute Linse MEVIS-CF von Qioptiq wurde modifiziert um hohe mechanische Lasten zu überstehen. Bei einer Brennweite von 25mm hat die diese eine Blendenzahl von 1,6. Das Sichtfeld der PAMCAM umfasst 20° x 16°, was in einer Schwadbreite von 200 km und einer Bodenauflösung von 160 m aus einem 600 km Orbit entspricht. Das Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis wurde konservativ auf über 100 für Bodenziele im Tageslicht bestimmt.

pamcam_eqm_s

Die Kamerasteuerung und die Datenverarbeitung wird vom Payload On-Board Computer (PLOC) erledigt. Die Datenschnittstelle besteht aus 7 LVDS-Signalen, von denen 6 zur Bildübertragung und 1 für die Kamerakontrolle benutzt werden.

Die Kamera wurde in einem kombinierten Thermal-Vakuum-Zyklus Test nach ECSS Standard für einen Temperaturbereich von -10°C bis 40°C im Betrieb und von -20°C bis 65°C bei ausgeschalteter Kamera qualifiziert. Zudem hat die Kamera mechanische Tests mit 20 gRMS überstanden.

Das folgende Testbild zeigt den Stuttgarter Fernsehturm fotografiert mit der PAMCAM vom Campus der Universität Stuttgart.

pamcamimage0000004304_small