OSIRIS

The Optical HighSpeed Infrared Link System (OSIRIS) is a technology demonstrator developed and built by the Institute of Communications and Navigation of DLR at Oberpfaffenhofen. Its goal is the demonstration of a cost-efficient optical downlink system with low technical complexity which can be used on future small satellite missions.

The instrument consists of two different optical transmitter units which are integrated into a single housing. Each unit is connected to an external collimator by fibre optics. The collimators will be mounted on the optical bench to ensure an ideal alignment with the payload cameras and the satellite's z-axis. The supply voltages needed by the transmitters are generated inside a separate box.

The two transmitters use different technologies. One is based on a high power laser diode while the other comprises a laser module and an erbium doped fibre amplifier (EDFA). Both transmitter units work at a wavelength of 1550 nm and use on-off-keying as modulation. OSIRIS has a maximum power consumption of 25 W and a mass of about 1.5 kg. The maximum transmission rate from orbit will be 80 Mbit/s.

The image below shows the OSIRIS FM.

img_4952_no_background_small


The signals will be received by the Institute of Communications and Navigation in Oberpfaffenhofen through their Optical Ground Station of (OGS-OP, shown below) as well as their Transportable Optical Ground Station (TOGS).

opsop

OSIRIS

Das Optical HighSpeed Infrared Link System auf Flying Laptop (OSIRIS-FLP) ist ein vom Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen entwickelter Technologiedemonstrator. Ziel ist es, die Einsetzbarkeit eines kostengünstigen optischen Terminals mit geringer technischer Komplexität unter Beweis zu stellen und für zukünftige Kleinsatellitenmissionen verfügbar zu machen.

Das Instrument besteht aus zwei optischen Transmitter Einheiten, die in ein gemeinsames Gehäuse integriert sind. Jede Einheit ist mittels Glasfasern mit einem externen Kollimator verbunden. Diese werden auf der optischen Bank des Satelliten angebracht, um eine ideale Ausrichtung zu den Nutzlasten und der z-Achse des Satelliten zu gewährleisten. Die von den Transmittern benötigten Versorgungsspannungen werden in einer separaten Box generiert.

Die beiden Transmitter benutzen unterschiedliche Technologien. Einer basiert auf einer Hochleistungs-Laser-Diode (engl. HPLD) während der andere ein Laser Modul und einen Erbium dotierten Faserverstärker (engl. EDFA) vereint. Beide Übertragungseinheiten arbeiten bei einer Wellenlänge von 1550 nm und benutzen eine Amplitudenumtastung nach dem On-Off-Keying Prinzip zur Modulation. OSIRIS hat eine Maximale Leistungsaufnahme von 25 W und eine Masse von 1,5 kg. Die Maximale Übertragungsrate aus dem Orbit wird 80 Mbit/s betragen.

Das Bild unterhalb zeigt das OSIRIS Flugmodell.

img_4952_no_background_small

 

Das Signal wird durch die optische Bodenstation des Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation in Oberpfaffenhofen (OGS-OP, siehe unten) und durch deren transportable optische Bodenstation (TOGS) empfangen.