MICS

The Multi-spectral Imaging Camera System (MICS) instrument will be the main imaging payload onmics_system_overview_small the Flying Laptop. It is designed for two purposes. The main purpose is Earth observation of specific targets from multiple angles, which may be used to determine the bidirectional reflectance distribution function (BRDF). In a second application MICS will be used for Earth observation in the nadir pointing mode, as well as in the target pointing mode. Among other things this can be used for the in-orbit verification of the AIS receiver system on board the satellite. Since  the first application is more ambitious MICS is designed for multi-angle Earth observation, fulfilling the second application in the best possible manner.


MICS is designed as matrix scanner with the spectral channels red, green and near-infrared. The major requirement for the multi-angular Earth observation is a good signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), while a particularly high ground sample distance (GSD) is not mandatory. As a result the system has a GSD of 21.5 m for an orbit altitude of 600 km. The corresponding swath width is 22 km. The system consists of three separate cameras aligned on an optical bench in a triangular position (see figure above). Each camera has an identical design including the optic. The only difference are the filters used and - resulting from the chromatic aberration - the exact position of the focal plane. MICS has been designed around the CCD interline sensor Kodak KAI-1003M.

Each camera consists of nine main components (see figure below). First the electronics housing, the read-out electronics, the CCD sensor including the sensor board, the electronics flange, the optics, the optics brackets, the filter, the baffle and at last the on-board calibration system. The optics frame is made of titanium to allow for minimal thermal expansion. Materials not sensitive to the radiation environment in orbit are selected for lenses and filters. Camera control, data processing and data storage is handled by the Payload On-Board Computer (PLOC).

mics_schnittansicht_small

MICS is mounted on an optical bench to minimize missalignment between the cameras due to thermal expansion. The optical bench is made of an aluminum sandwich structure with carbon fiber reinforced plastic as cover plates. The star trackers are mounted on the same bench for highly accurate pointing information.

The filters are designed for scientific earth observation purposes. Thus, the definition of the channels is strongly driven by the atmospheric absorption, as illustrated below, which shows the defined spectral channels and the absorption of the atmosphere. In addition to a preferably high transmission within the channels, the filters must block the radiation within the sensor sensible spectrum between 200 nm - 1000 nm.

 

mics_filter_characteristics_small

To characterize and calibrate the cameras in the laboratory, an optical test facility was established in a shaded area of the integration room. Details can be found here. Each camera is equipped with a newly developed LED calibration system to detect possible degradation of the sensor or the optics in orbit.

 

The following image shows on of the cameras within the setup used for the mechanical qualification test.

mics_shakeraufbau_small

MICS

mics_system_overview_smallDas MICS (Multi-spectral Imaging Camera System) ist die Hauptnutzlast zur Bilderfassung des Flying Laptop. Es wurde für zwei Anwendungen ausgelegt. Die Hauptaufgabe ist die Beobachtung von ausgewählten Zielen auf der Erdoberfläche aus verschiedenen Winkeln. Diese Beobachtungen können später für die Berechnung der Bidirektionalen Reflektanzverteilungsfunktion (engl.Abk. BRDF) verwendet werden. Die zweite Aufgabe des Kamerasystems ist die Erdbeobachtung im 'nadir pointing mode' und im 'target pointing mode' des Satelliten. Dies kann unter anderem zur In-Orbit-Verifikation des AIS Empfänger-Systems an Bord des Satelliten genutzt werden. Da die erste Aufgabe höhere Anforderdungen stellt, wurde das MICS speziell für die winkelabhängige Erdbeobachtung ausgelegt.

MICS ist als Matrixscanner mit den spektralen Kanälen Rot, Grün und nahes Infrarot ausgelegt. Die Hauptanforderung an das Kamerasystem für die Erdbeobachtung ist ein gutes Signal zu Rausch Verhältnis, während eine hohe Bodenauflösung nicht entscheidend ist. Das Instrument besitzt eine Bodenauflösung (ground sample distance) von 21,5 m bei einer Orbithöhe von 600 km und damit eine Schwadbreite von etwa 22 km. Es besteht aus drei getrennten Kameras, die in einer Dreiecksanordnung auf der optischen Bank angebracht sind (siehe Bild unten). Die Kameras sind bis auf den vorgelagerten Spektralfilter identisch aufgebaut. Das MICS wurde um den Kodak CCD Interline-Sensor KAI-1003M herum entwickelt.

Jede Kamera besteht aus neun Komponenten (siehe Bild unten): Elektronikgehäuse, Ausleseelektronik, CCD Sensor mit Sensor Board, Elektronikflansch, Optik, Optikhalterung, Filter, Baffle und Kalibrationssystem. Das Gehäuse der Optik ist aus Titan gefertigt, um temperaturbedingte Verformungen zu minimieren. Für die Filter und Linsen wurde strahlungsunempfindliches Material verwendet. Die Kamerasteuerung, die Datenverarbeitung und die Datenspeicherung werden vom Payload On-Board Computer (PLOC) übernommen.

mics_schnittansicht_small

Um durch thermale Einflüsse bedingten Ausrichtungsfehler zu minimieren, sind die Kameras auf der optischen Bank des Satelliten befestigt (siehe Bild oben). Diese besteht aus einer Aluminium-Sandwich Struktur mit Deckschichten aus kohlenstofffaserverstärktem Kunststoff. Um eine hochpräzise Ausrichtungsinformationen zu erhalten, sind die Sternenkameras ebenfalls auf der optischen Bank montiert.

Die Filter sind speziell für Erdbeobachtungszwecke ausgelegt. Daher ist die Definition der Kanäle stark durch die atmosphärische Absorbtion geprägt. Das Bild unten zeigt die gewählten Filterkanäle und die Absorbtion der Atmosphäre. Bei einem möglichst hohen Transmissionsgrad innerhalb der Kanäle müssen die Filter den restlichen Spektralbereich von 200 nm - 1000 nm blocken.

 

mics_filter_characteristics_small

Um die Kameras im Labor zu charakterisieren und kalibrieren, wurde im Satellitenintegrationsraum ein Optikmessplatz in einem abgedunkelten Bereich eingerichtet. Darin ist es möglich, die Kameras radiometrisch und spektral zu kalibrieren. Details dazu gibt es hier. Jede der Kameras ist mit einem neuentwickelten LED Kalibrierungssystem  ausgestattet, das es erlaubt, Veränderungen der Sensorempfindlichkeit bzw. Degradationserscheinungen der Optik im Orbit zu untersuchen.

Das folgende Bild zeigt eine der Kameras bei den mechanischen Qualifikationstests.

mics_shakeraufbau_small