DDS

hardware_picture_sm

The DDS (Data Downlink System) is a system which sends the payload data to a ground station. It sends the pictures with a rate of 10 Mbps to the IRS ground station in order to be able to transmit the required amount of data in the limited transmission time. HAM amateur radio frequencies are used within the S-Band. 

In order to do so, 3 pieces of equipment are used:

  • Two redundant transmitters (on the left) modulate the signal into a SRRC (Square Root Raised Cosine Filter) QPSK (Quadrature Phase Shift Keying) waveform. The output power of the transmitter is about 0,5 Watt. The transmitter has been developed with COTS components and qualified at the IRS.
  • A space qualified switch (center) is used to switch between the two transmitters in case one of them fails.
  • Finally, an antenna (on the right) is used to transmit the signal into free space. This antenna has a gain of about 13,5 dB and is circular polarised in order to minimise the influence of the orientation and position of the satellite on the link budget. The antenna is based on waveguide technology and was developed at the IRS.

 

DDS_Gain

Picture: Measurement of the directivity of the DDS horn antenna

DDS

hardware_picture_sm

Das DDS (Data Downlink System) ist ein System der Nutzlastdaten zur Bodenstation überträgt. Das DDS sendet die Wissenschaftsdaten und Nutzlastbilder mit einer Datenrate von 10 Mbps zur IRS Bodenstation. Diese hohe Datenrate wird benötigt, um die generierte Datenmenge in der begrenzten Übertragungszeit von max. 10 min pro Pass zu schicken. Die Übertragung findet im Amateurfunk S-Band statt.

Um diese Funktion zu schaffen, werden 3 Geräten benutzt:

  • Zwei redundant Sender (Links) modulieren der Signal in ein SRRC (Square Root Raised Cosine Filtered) QPSK (Quadrature Phase Shift  Keying) Waveform. Die Ausgangsleistung der Sender ist zirka 0,5 Watt und wurde mit COTS Komponenten am IRS entwickelt und qualifiziert.
  • Falls ein der Sender ausfällt, wird ein Raumfahrtqualifiziertes Schalter (Bild Mitte) verwendet um zwischen den beiden Sendern zu wechseln.
  • Letztlich wird eine Hornantenne (Bild Rechts) benutzt, um das Signal in den Freiraum auszustrahlen. Diese Antenne hat einen Gewinn von zirka 13.5 dB und ist linkszirkular polarisiert, um der Einfluss von die Orientierung vom Satelliten im Link Budget zu minimieren. Die Antenne verwendet Hohlleitertechnologie und wurde am IRS entwickelt.

 

DDS_Gain

Bild: Messung des Antennengewinns der DDS Hornantenne