AIS Receiver

In the 3. quarter of 2012, Flying Laptop got an AIS receiver including an antenna as a new payload. This payload was developed, built and tested by the DLR Institute of Space Systems in Bremen. This system can receive AIS signals from ships. Before continuing with the introduction of the payload, we would like to introduce the AIS system, itself.

Since January 1st 2004, it has been mandatory for all ships bigger than 300 GRT to run an AIS transmitter in international waters. Since July 1st 2008, all ships in national waters bigger than 500 GRT also need to run an AIS transmitter.

The Automatic Identification System, AIS, is a system designed to supervise marine traffic. In times of increasing ship traffic, a system like this is indispensable. AIS shall be used for the following:

  • Preventing collisions

  • Providing information about ships and their cargo to adjoining coastal states

  • Serving as an appliance for landside surveillance

The system works as follows:

Ships will send messages in regular time intervals. Among other data, these messages contain position, route, and velocity of the ship, the ship name and the call sign. If a ship has an AIS receiver on board it can use the signals for better planning and decision-making.

These AIS signals can also be received from space. In a last-minute cooperation between DLR and the Institute of Space Systems of the University of Stuttgart, an AIS receiver including an antenna could be accomodated within the satellite. According to the slogan "form follows function" the unusual form of the AIS receiver housing was created.

AIS receiver

Other satellites are already recording AIS data and tracking the route of ships. The novelty with Flying Laptop is that few satellites have both an AIS receiver and a camera system onboard. This created the possibility of checking how strongly the system is used and how well the received signals correspond with the real position of the ships.

AIS Empfänger

Der im 3. Quartal 2012 hinzugekommene AIS Empfänger samt eigener Antenne ist die neueste Nutzlast auf Flying Laptop. Diese Nutzlast wurde vom Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme des DLR in Bremen entwickelt, gebaut und getestet. Dieses System ist in der Lage AIS Signale von Schiffen zu empfangen. Bevor allerdings weiter auf das System eingegangen wird wollen wir kurz das AIS System als solches erläutern.

Seit dem 1. Januar 2004 ist es die Pflicht sämtlicher Berufsschiffe über 300 BRT in internationalen Gewässern einen AIS Sender zu betreiben. Seit dem 1. Juli 2008 müssen auch sämtliche Schiffe über 500 BRT in nationalen Gewässern ein AIS Sender zu betreiben.

Das Automatic Identification System, kurz AIS, ist ein System um den Marineverkehr zu überwachen. Gerade in Zeiten immer höheren Verkehrsdichten im marinen Raum ist solch ein System unabdingbar. Das AIS soll für die folgenden Punkte genutzt werden:

  • Kollisionsverhütung

  • Information für Küstenstaaten bzgl. Schiffen und deren Ladungen

  • Hilfsmittel für landseitige Überwachung

Das System funktioniert wie folgt:

Schiffe setzten in regelmäßigen Abständen eine Nachricht ab. Diese Nachricht beinhaltet u.a. Position, Kurs und Geschwindigkeit des Schiffs, den Schiffsnamen und das Funkzeichen. Hat ein Schiff einen AIS Empfänger kann es die Signale zur verbesserten Planung und Entscheidungsfindung nutzen.

Diese, von den Schiffen ausgesendeten, Signalen können auch vom Weltall aus empfangen werden. In einer last-minute Kooperation, zwischen dem DLR und dem Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme der Uni Stuttgart, gelang es ein AIS Empfangsgerät incl. Antenne im Satelliten unter zu bringen. Nach dem Motto "Form follows function" ist somit auch die etwas außergewöhnliche Form des AIS Empfänger Gehäuses entstanden.

AIS STM

Andere Satelliten nehmen derzeit schon reichlich AIS Daten auf und verfolgen die Routen der Schiffe.Das Novum auf Flying Laptop wird die seltene Kombination zwischen AIS Empfänger und Kamerasystem auf einem Satelliten sein. Somit wird eine Möglichkeit geschaffen zu überprüfen wie stark das System eingesetzt wird und wie gut die ausgesendeten Signale mit der realen Position der Schiffe übereinstimmt.